Inauguration of Judicial Year 2013-14

The Judicial Year 2013-14 was formally inaugurated today with the traditional sitting of the joint benches of Judges and Magistrates held in the Criminal Court at the Courts of Justice in Valletta.
The President of the Chamber of Advocates, Dr Reuben Balzan, addressed the members of the Judiciary, and Chief Justice Silvio Camilleri replied on behalf of the Judges and Magistrates.
Guest of honour at the ceremony was the President of Malta, Dr George Abela. Among those attending were the Attorney General, Dr Peter Grech; the Parliamentary Secretary responsible for Justice within the Office of the Prime Minister, Dr Owen Bonnici; retired members of the Judiciary (including Chief Justices Emeriti Giuseppe Mifsud Bonnici and Joseph Said Pullicino, and Judges Joseph David Camilleri and Victor Caruana Colombo); the Shadow Minister for the Economy, Investment and Small Enterprises, Dr Mario Demarco; the President of the Chamber of Legal Procurators; members of the Commission for the Administration of Justice, as well as many advocates and legal procurators.
The Chief Justice’s address (in Maltese) may be viewed by clicking here.​